UN Security Levels

On this page:

  • Definitions of the 6 UN Security Levels

The UN carries out a Structured Threat Assessment in order to determine the Security Level.  There is a separate decision process for security measures to be taken in response.


Level One: Minimal

  • Rare limited threats

Level Two: Low

  • Occasional limited threats

Level Three: Moderate

  • Occasional multiple threats

Level Four: Substantial

  • Frequent multiple threats

Level Five: High

  • Continuous multiple threats

Level Six: Extreme

  • Generalized major threats



Tags: Advocacy